Abroadmap
โ† All comparisons

๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ท Greece vs ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ช United Arab Emirates: Digital Nomad Visa Compared

Greece offers Digital Nomad Visa (Type D) + Residence Permit (Type I.8) - Law 5038/2023, amended by Law 5275/2026. United Arab Emirates offers Virtual Work Residence Visa. Every figure below comes from each country's own sourced, dated fiche - compare income, duration, tax, family rules, fees and processing time before you decide.

๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ท Greece๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ช United Arab Emirates
Minimum income
3,500 EUR / month

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: NET-vs-GROSS conflict stays open, no tiebreaker found; one new source (freenance.io) claims GROSS and frames EUR 3,500 as "raised from EUR 2,500 in 2025," which does not match this fiche's tracked history and looks like a search-summary artifact, not a genuine change - not promoted. Attributed to the official mfa.gr page (403 on direct fetch) and corroborated by multiple specialist sources, though at least one 2026 secondary guide states this figure as GROSS rather than NET - the net/gross distinction could not be independently re-confirmed on the official page this pass and should be treated as unresolved. Family uplift: +20% spouse, +15% per child. RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-05: multiple independent 2026 guides (remoteworkeurope.eu, globalcitizensolutions.com, lexidy.com, nomadsembassy.com) state the required bank-statement history proving this income rose from 3 to 6 consecutive months, effective 27 January 2026 - corroborated across 4 independent secondary sources but no primary decree/circular citation found, so this is added as a documentation-requirement detail, not a change to the EUR 3,500 figure itself.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

3,500 USD / month

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: reconfirmed unchanged; the USD 5,000 rumor still traces only to the same VisaHQ.com-originated cluster with no official or tier-1-press confirmation. USD 3,500/mo floor stated on u.ae, ICP and GDRFA (all official) and still unchanged on the last page read - the rumored rise to USD 5,000 has not materialized on any official page. What DID change: a GDRFA procedural update effective 2026-01-27 doubled the required proof-of-income history from 3 to 6 consecutive months of bank statements. RE-CHECKED 2026-07-19: secondary immigration-consultancy sources now describe a January-2026 ICP/GDRFA circular, said to take effect 2026-04-23, that raises this floor - but they conflict on the actual rule (flat USD 5,000/mo for everyone vs. a tiered structure where employees stay at USD 3,500 and only business owners/freelancers move to USD 5,000). No official page could be read to adjudicate, so USD 3,500 remains the published figure; treat USD 5,000 as an unconfirmed, internally-inconsistent rumor, not a fact, until an official page or a single consistent account surfaces. RE-CHECKED 2026-07-23: the claimed 2026-04-23 effective date is now 3 months past with still zero official or tier-1-press confirmation, and the rumor still traces to a single recurring publisher - USD 3,500 treated as confirmed current. RE-CHECKED 2026-07-24: a wider search now finds MORE secondary sources telling a materially more consistent story than before, but still zero primary-source or mainstream-press confirmation - stays reported/unconfirmed, USD 3,500 published. RE-CHECKED 2026-07-25: current Gulf News pages on this exact visa still state USD 3,500 with no mention of a 2026 change; tracing the 'more consistent' secondary sources found on 2026-07-24 back to their origin points to VisaHQ.com (a commercial visa-processing company) as the earliest and most prolific publisher, consistent with citation laundering rather than independent corroboration. Balance now leans toward the rumor being false, though nothing rises to an authoritative debunk - USD 3,500 stays published. RE-CHECKED 2026-07-27: more commercial/legal-services sources now assert USD 5,000 as settled fact, but at least one other 2026 guide still states USD 3,500 remains in place; still zero official-page or mainstream-press confirmation either way - USD 3,500 stays published. RE-CHECKED 2026-07-28: Khaleej Times' own 2026 visa-rule-changes roundup states the income floor 'remains' at USD 3,500 and attributes 2026's actual change to the 6-month bank-statement rule - the first tier-1 UAE press signal found on this question, and it corroborates rather than contradicts. u.ae/ICP/GDRFA still 403 on direct fetch. USD 3,500 stays published.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Visa duration
12 months, renewable

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: unchanged, no new development. Type D visa: up to 12 months. Then Type I.8 residence permit: 2 years, renewable for successive 2-year periods. LAW 5275/2026 (~5 Feb 2026): the in-country conversion route was ABOLISHED - you must now obtain the Type D visa at a Greek consulate abroad BEFORE entering. RE-CHECKED 2026-07-31: the same reform also closed a second loophole - applicants who entered on a Type C (Schengen) visa or a visa-waiver could previously obtain the Type I.8 permit by showing a housing lease or property-purchase contract instead of the full consulate-first D-visa route; two independent legal-advisory sources (Bernitsas Law, siopi-law.gr) now describe this route as closed, consistent with the same law's abolition of in-country conversion. Reported/corroborated via search-indexed content, not a fetched primary source (mfa.gr/migration.gov.gr still 403).

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

12 months, renewable

One year from issuance, extendable (GDRFA). RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: reconfirmed unchanged.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Tax regime
New tax residents may access a 50% income-tax exemption for up to 7 years (Art. 5C), but it is NOT automatic and generally does NOT apply to pure foreign-source remote income. Staying >183 days makes you a Greek tax resident, taxed on worldwide income at standard rates.

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: unchanged. Art. 5C (AADE) requires 5-of-6-years prior non-residence AND historically Greek-source income; specialist tax sources flag that a nomad working purely for foreign clients may not qualify. Do NOT present the 50% cut as an automatic benefit.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

No personal income tax in the UAE, so foreign income is not taxed at the personal level. (5% VAT on goods/services; 9% corporate tax above AED 375k profit - neither is personal income tax.)

Tax fact from the official u.ae taxation portal; the visa pages themselves do not discuss tax. Home-country obligations out of scope. RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: reconfirmed unchanged.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Family (spouse / children)
Spouse + children admitted (+20% spouse (approx EUR 4,200/mo total), +15% per child (approx +EUR 525/mo))

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: unchanged, +20% spouse / +15% per child reconfirmed.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Spouse + children admitted

Holder can sponsor family for the same one-year period (GDRFA). Per-dependent fees not itemized on official pages (TBD). RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: reconfirmed unchanged.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Application fees
75 EUR

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: unchanged. This EUR 75 is the Type D VISA fee (+ EUR 150 per accompanying family member). SEPARATE and much larger: the Type I.8 RESIDENCE PERMIT fee, ~EUR 1,000 (+ EUR 150/family member). Guides routinely conflate the two stages. RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-07: the post-Law-5275/2026 re-verification flag carried since 2026-07-05 is now resolved - the EUR 1,000 + EUR 150/family-member Type I.8 figure is independently reconfirmed unchanged post-reform by multiple current 2026 sources (Karabatsoulegal and GSL.org since 2026-07-29; consiliojus.com added this pass), with no competing post-reform figure surfacing across any pass since. Still not read on migration.gov.gr directly (403/EGRESS_BLOCKED every pass), so confidence stays "reported," not "official."

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

300 AED

ICP federal channel: AED 300 total (100 application + 100 issuance + 100 smart services). Dubai GDRFA channel differs (AED 200 + 5% VAT + add-ons). Excludes medical test, Emirates ID, insurance. Fees are AED, not USD. RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: reconfirmed unchanged; the separately-flagged '~AED 1,500-1,700 all-in April-2026 fee reduction' lead remains single-cluster-sourced and unpromoted.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Health insurance
Required - Mandatory private health insurance covering care/hospitalization in Greece for applicant + family; minimum coverage amount not stated officially.

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: unchanged.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Required - Valid UAE-covering health insurance document required; minimum coverage amount not stated on official pages.

RE-CHECKED 2026-07-19: unconfirmed secondary reports (same batch reporting the disputed USD 5,000 income-floor rumor) claim the mandatory minimum coverage is rising from AED 150,000 to AED 500,000 under a January-2026 ICP/GDRFA circular. No official page states a coverage minimum at all (this field has never had one), so this is flagged as an unverified rumor rather than folded into the tracked fact - confirm with GDRFA/ICP before relying on either figure. RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: still unresolved either way; the AED 500,000 claim resurfaced again via the same VisaHQ.com 2026-04-24 article, no fresher independent corroboration found.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Processing time
~10 days consular decision target (2-6 weeks in practice; longer since the 2026 consulate-only route)

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: unchanged. This estimate covers the initial Type D consular-visa stage. SEPARATE and later: the Type I.8 residence-permit stage, applied for after arrival, is a 'single permit' application under Law 5275/2026 (transposing EU Directive 2024/1233, in force since 6 Feb 2026), which sets a statutory 90-day decision deadline (extendable by 30 days in exceptional cases), plus a 2-month deadline (also extendable by 30 days) for the applicant to supply any missing documents, with the clock paused meanwhile. RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-20: independently corroborated across several named law-firm sources (EY Greece, Zepos & Yannopoulos, PwC Greece, Bernitsas Law, Machas & Partners) all citing the statute directly - still not read on migration.gov.gr itself (EGRESS_BLOCKED), so confidence stays 'reported', but this is the strongest sourcing tier short of a direct page read.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

~2 days (48 hours)

RE-VERIFIED 2026-09-24: reconfirmed unchanged.

source ยท verified 2026-09-24

Full Greece guide โ†’Full United Arab Emirates guide โ†’Check which visa you qualify for โ†’

Frequently asked questions

How long does it take to process a digital nomad visa for Greece vs United Arab Emirates?

Greece's stated processing time is ~10 days consular decision target (2-6 weeks in practice; longer since the 2026 consulate-only route); United Arab Emirates's is ~2 days (48 hours), per each country's own sourced fiche. Actual processing time varies by consulate and caseload.

Related comparisons

Figures marked TBD are not yet verified and are never shown as facts. Last full review: Greece 2026-09-24, United Arab Emirates 2026-09-24.